5 Paragraphs: Why I would Never tell a Lie

Oh! There it is. I went and did it. I’ve called shots, haven’t I? The proverbial gauntlet has been tossed to the floor at the feet of some who think this is an impossible task. You hear about how “Everyone lies” or “It’s just a white lie”. I’m here to tell you that, my dear reader, is crap. It’s a load of bull. Not everyone lies. I’m not talking about being misinformed or wrong. -And just to be perfectly clear (look it up!); a lie is a  false statement made with deliberate intent to deceive; an intentional untruth; a falsehood. … an inaccurate or false statement; a falsehood. 4. the charge or accusation of telling a lie: He flung the lie back at his accusers.- So, why won’t I lie?

The first reason is a selfish reason. I am human. Just because I will not purposely lead people on with false information or half truths does not mean I always do so with selflessness. Hiding the truth has caused me a great deal of panic and worry when I was a very young kid. It does not take much for me to begin spiraling down so badly I become outright suicidal. I can not even stand it when I realize I was wrong or that I accidently gave out the wrong information. I must make it right. It’s nearly a physical sensation for me because it has such a strong effect on me. So, guess what..I avoid it.

Panic aside, I’ve found lying is simply not necessary. Did you know that if you do not wish someone to not know about something you could simply…not tell them? Why yes, the art of keeping one’s mouth shut seems to be a lost skill. Even Jesus kept his mouth shut at times. Not everyone needs to know what you know. Just as we wait to share certain things with our children, that guy down the road may not be ready to hear what you have to say. Heck, he may never be ready. Not revealing something immediately can be done with love and compassion.

As I have grown as a person, my original reasons for always telling the truth faded away, and I began doing it because I felt it was the right thing to do! Lying never seemed to serve a better purpose than simply knowing how to handle to truth. The less you allow lies to enter your life, the less you have to grapple with the consequences of the truth making the light of day. It always does, eventually.

The truth is not meant to hurt others. If it hurts, you can usually (if not always) trace it back to a lie. This means it was actually the lie that harmed and the truth is the act of scouring the wound. It’s a painful, but necessary cleaning of the air. I know we do not live in a perfect world and there will always be those that justify lying, but is it really worth it? One can solve a problem without resorting to deception, after all. So, whatever motivation you need to start this new practice, take it on! For me, it started out as self-protection. But, now I’ve learned the value of truth telling. You can as well.

Leave a Reply

